Part 4 of 8: Seven Chakras - Solar Plexus

Posted by Christie Chong on 12/14/2021 to Chakras
Part 4 of 8: Seven Chakras - Solar Plexus
In part one of this series, we discussed the concept of chakras. Part One Find out more about each chakra in this 8 part series! The solar plexus chakra is associated with self expression.

Solar Plexus Chakra Location

The Location Of The Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra spins from the upper abdomen all the way up to the breastbone. It is composed of a complex system of radiating nerves and ganglia. The solar plexus chakra is located right below the heart chakra and is known as the third chakra.

The Meaning Of The Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra represents personal power, expression of will, intellectual abilities, higher levels and the ability to establish ideas. The main function of the solar plexus chakra is to provide momentum forward and to realize personal intentions and desires. It influences one’s compulsions about social status and self-image.

Solar Plexus Chakra symbol manipura

The Solar Plexus Chakra Symbol Manipura

The solar plexus symbol is composed of a circle with ten petals and a downward-pointing triangle. The petals refer to the ten pranas in the body (types of air / energy manipulation). The triangle represents the energy of the lower three chakras being concentrated and energetically funneling to the higher chakras.

Solar Plexus Chakra Condition

When the solar plexus chakra is active (15 - 21 years old) and open we feel free to express our true selves. When it is blocked, we feel overwhelming shame and self-doubt.

Solar Plexus Chakra Stone

Citrine, rutilated quartz, yellow calcite, golden healer quartz, sulphur, stilbite, lemon serpentine

Solar Plexus Chakra Diet

Yellow foods such as banana, pineapple, corn, lemon, curry. Choose complex carbohydrates and whole grains such as oats, brown rice, rye, farro, beans, vegetables and sprouted grains.

Solar Plexus Chakra boat pose

Solar Plexus Chakra Posture

Boat pose

Solar Plexus Chakra Affirmations

  • I use my powers for good.
  • I accept myself unconditionally.
  • I am motivated to pursue my true purpose.
  • I make my own decisions with confidence and conviction.
  • I give myself permission to be my authentic self.
Read Part 5 of this series about the Heart Chakra Please feel free to comment about other topics you would like to see us explore or tell us about your own journey with your personal chakra work.

Tagged Products

Add Comment