Part 3 of 8: Seven Chakras - Sacral

Posted by Christie Chong on 12/1/2021 to Chakras
Part 3 of 8: Seven Chakras - Sacral
In part one of this series, we discussed the concept of chakras. Part One Find out more about each chakra in this 8 part series! The sacral chakra is associated with well-being.

Sacral Chakra Location

The Location Of The Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is most commonly located two inches below the navel. It lies at the center of the lower belly at the level of the lumbar vertebrae. The sacral chakra is associated with the lymphatic system. It is also known as the second chakra.

The Meaning Of The Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is associated with relationships, sexuality, emotions, creativity and fantasies. It is the center for feelings and sensations. Its energy is characterized by flow and flexibility, but is also directed by the principle of pleasure. It strongly resonates with one's need for relationships and the need to create dynamics in the physical world. Therefore, the sacral chakra focuses on allowing one to discover their true hobbies, spark creativity and build exciting relationships.

Sacral Chakra symbol svadhishthana

The Sacral Chakra Symbol Svadhishthana

The symbol of the sacral chakra is composed of a circle with six petals and a moon crescent. The six petals each represent a negative aspect of human nature that we must overcome to cleanse this centre. (Wrath, hate, jealousy, cruelty, lust, pride) The circle represents infinity and the cyclical nature of energy. The moon, a feminine symbol, reflects the flow of time and the never-ending cycle of change. All of the components point towards the relationship between emotions.

Sacral Chakra Condition

When the sacral chakra is active (8 - 14 years old) and open we feel hopeful and inspired. When it is blocked, we feel a lack of control over our direction in life.

Sacral Chakra Stone

Carnelian, red selenite, orange calcite, citrine, amber, tigereye

Sacral Chakra Diet

Orange foods such as carrot, mango, oranges, peaches, peppers, apricots. Foods rich in omega-3s such as salmon, flax, almonds, walnuts, sesame. Stay hydrated with water, coconut water and herbal teas.

Sacral Chakra bound angle pose

Sacral Chakra Posture

Bound angle pose

Sacral Chakra Affirmations

  • I always honour others but not before myself.
  • I attract people who treat me with respect.
  • I am a creative being.
  • My emotions are free flowing and balanced.
  • I honour the sacred body in which my soul resides.
  • It is my birthright to receive pleasure.
Read Part 4 of this series about the Solar Plexus Chakra Please feel free to comment about other topics you would like to see us explore or tell us about your own journey with your personal chakra work.

Tagged Products

Add Comment