Part 2 of 8: Seven Chakras - Root

Posted by Christie Chong on 11/17/2021 to Chakras
Part 2 of 8: Seven Chakras - Root
In part one of this series, we discussed the concept of chakras. Part One Find out more about each chakra in this 8 part series! The root chakra is responsible for one’s safety and security. It is generally the starting point for chakra work.

Root Chakra Location

The Location Of The Root Chakra

The root chakra is located around the base of the spine, the pelvic floor and the first three vertebrae. As with the physical spine, it is essential and responsible for one’s sense of safety and security. It is also known as the first chakra and a cone of energy, as it begins the alignment of the other six energy centers.

The Meaning Of The Root Chakra

The root chakra is composed of all aspects that bring stability into one’s life. It is associated with a sense of security, survival, physicality, grounding and support. The root chakra continues to support one during their discovery of life. Whether it's physical or emotional, the root chakra allows us to anchor our energy into the manifest world, giving us a place for the flow of energies to propel us forward on the journey we call life.

Root Chakra symbol muladhara

The Root Chakra Symbol Muladhara

The root chakra symbol is composed of a circle with four surrounding petals. A square sits tightly within the circle and a downward pointing triangle is featured right in the center. The square represents rigidity and stability and provides a foundational structure for the entire chakra system to rest on. The triangle is the alchemical symbol for Earth. Therefore, it reminds us of the grounded energy. Finally, the four petals represent the mind, intellect, consciousness and ego, which are the four mind-states that originate in this chakra.

Root Chakra Condition

When the root chakra is active (1 - 7 years old) and open we feel confident to face challenges. When it is blocked, we feel unstable and under threat.

Root Chakra Stone

Garnet, red jasper, red selenite, smokey quartz, black obsidian, black onyx, black tourmaline

Root Chakra Diet

Red foods such as apples, beets, tomatoes, pomegranates and berries. Foods grown below ground such as sweet potato, carrot, turnip, ginger and turmeric. Protein-righ food like eggs, beans, nuts and lean meats.

Root Chakra warrior pose

Root Chakra Posture

Warrior pose

Root Chakra Affirmations

  • My root chakra is balanced.
  • I am safe and grounded
  • I deserve to be safe at all times.
  • I feel protected in this world.
  • I am supported by mother earth.
  • I grow from a steady foundation.
Read Part 3 of this series about the Sacral Chakra Please feel free to comment about other topics you would like to see us explore or tell us about your own journey with your personal chakra work.

Tagged Products

Add Comment