Part 1 of 8: Seven Chakras - Intro

Posted by Christie Chong on 11/3/2021 to Chakras
Part 1 of 8: Seven Chakras - Intro
Gain insight about the history and meaning of chakras and learn how to awaken them in this eight part series - The Seven Chakras.

historical depiction of chakras

History of Chakras

The history of chakras began in 800 BCE and originated from Sanskrit. They were first linked with the science and practice of yoga. As time went on, a religious preacher known by the name of Swami Purananda wrote the Shri-Tattva-Cintamini in the 16th century. He included practices used to activate the chakras and went into depth about the powers attributed to each chakra. His work continued to evolve and was translated in the 20th century to reach more individuals. Over the last thousand years, the chakra system has developed into a gateway to help individuals understand themselves as spiritual beings.

Chakra wheel

Meaning of Chakras

The definition of chakra means “wheel” in Sanskrit. The term wheel is associated with its function as a vortex of spinning energy. Chakras are energy centers that interact with physiological and neurological systems in the human body which aid with regulating its processes. There are seven chakras positioned throughout the human body, starting from the crown of the head to the base of the spine. Each one corresponds to bundles of nerves and organs as well as our psychological, emotional and spiritual states of being.

Chakra positions

The 7 Chakras

The seven main chakras are known as the root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye and crown chakra. Although they are associated with parts of the body, they are not included as physical entities. Instead, they belong to the realm of subtle energy which is known as the crossroad between the biological and spiritual.

Awaken the Chakras

The following tools can be used to open and balance the chakras
  • Diet: A balanced diet helps to maintain balance of the five elements in the body (earth, water, fire, air, space)
  • Asanas: These body postures help to stimulate and improve the function of each chakra. They can also help them to heal.
  • Breathing: Breathing increases the flow and removes stale prana or energy.
  • Meditation: Meditation clears the mind while removing negativity and manipulation.
Read Part 2 of this series about the Root Chakra

Tagged Products

Add Comment